2018 Legislative Council Study Committee on Bail and Conditions of Pretrial Release

Legislative Council Staff

Katie Bender-Olson

David Moore

Tracey Young


Senator Wanggaard (Chair)

Senator Risser (Vice-Chair)

Jennifer Dorow

Representative Duchow

Adam Gerol

Representative Goyke

Scott Horne

Gary King

Jane Klekamp

Joseph McCleer

Paul Susienka

Kelli Thompson

Representative Tusler

Maxine White

Hearing Notices

Travel Voucher

Membership List


  • The Study Committee is directed to review Wisconsin’s pretrial release system, including considerations for courts in imposing monetary bail and for denying pretrial release. The committee shall review relevant Wisconsin constitutional and statutory provisions and best practices implemented by Wisconsin counties and other states, including use of risk assessment tools for informing pretrial detention decisions. The committee is directed to recommend legislation regarding bail and pretrial release that enhances public safety, respects constitutional rights of the accused, considers costs to local governments, and incorporates evidence-based strategies.

August 16, 2018 Meeting 10:00 a.m. LC Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

September 17, 2018 Meeting 10:00 a.m. LC Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

October 16, 2018 Meeting 12:30 p.m. LC Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

November 13, 2018 Meeting 10:00 a.m. LC Large Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

December 11, 2018 Meeting 10:00 a.m. LC Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

January 29, 2019 Meeting 10:00 a.m. Legislative Council Large Conference Room [ Agenda | Minutes ]

February 6, 2019 Mail Ballot

Recommendations to the Joint Legislative Council

Joint Legislative Council Recommendations to the 2019-20 Legislature